Maryland Philanthropy Network Executive Transition

Maryland Philanthropy Network Executive Transition

Dear Members,

Maggie Gunther Osborn, president and CEO of Maryland Philanthropy Network, has shared with us that she will step down as of October 31, 2022. The Board of Directors is deeply grateful to Maggie for her leadership, including stewarding the strategic planning process, supporting the fiscal hosting portfolio, and strengthening relationships with members across Maryland. Maggie has also helped expand MPN’s connections to national and regional philanthropic partners elevating our position as a thought and sector leader.

The Board of Directors has worked carefully to ensure continuity during this transition time and are pleased to announce that Kevin McHugh, MPN Board of Directors Vice Chair and trustee of the Helen J. Serini Foundation, has agreed to support MPN and our membership as interim president and CEO starting November 1, 2022. Kevin will take a leave of absence from the board and will remain in place as interim president throughout MPN’s upcoming executive search process. Due to Kevin's deep knowledge of and engagement with MPN as an active member over the years including serving on the Executive Committee, the Governance Committee, and the Public Policy Committee, he is well-equipped to support the staff in moving the vital work of MPN forward.

Together, Kevin and the staff team will continue to ensure MPN is a place where grantmakers at all levels can network and learn together to advance the transformational impact of giving throughout Maryland. We will be unveiling MPN's new strategic framework by year’s end and look forward to engaging you in new and impactful ways. We value the expertise and dedication of the staff and the many ways they go above and beyond to engage members. Maggie will support the staff, Kevin, and the board to ensure a successful transition.

Kevin and I are available to address any questions during this period of transition. Kevin can be reached at


David Daniels
Chair, Board of Directors


News type: